The Rose Ball is Greenville’s longest-running charitable event, featuring more than 4,000 roses and raising more than $4 million to benefit the physical, emotional, educational and cultural needs of our community. Held biennially, the Rose Ball has a reputation of being one of the most beautiful and elegant affairs in the Southeast.


In 1971, the Charity Ball Board of Greenville was organized to sponsor a ball for a charitable community benefit. The Rose Ball was the first ball held in Greenville that would solicit public support to benefit charities in the community. The first Rose Ball was held on September 24, 1971 at the Poinsett Club, and proceeds from the event benefitted the newly constructed St. Francis Hospital.

Beginning in 1975, the Charity Ball Board decided that proceeds from the Ball should be distributed throughout the community with the St. Francis Health System receiving half of the proceeds. 

Over the past forty-seven years, the Rose Ball has raised nearly $4 million to benefit the physical, emotional, educational, and cultural needs of our community. The 26th Rose Ball will be held Friday, September 24, 2021 at the Poinsett Club located at 807 East Washington Street in Greenville, South Carolina.

 Executive Committee

Mr. Carey Daniel Adams (Dan), President

Mr. William Andrew Murphy (Will), Vice President

Mrs. Charles Martin Alexander (Salli), Secretary

Mr. Brandon Michael Robinson (Brandon), Treasurer

Mrs. Don Wayne Cooley (Kimberly), Rose Ball Chairman

Mrs. Matthew Thomas Madden (Kate), Rose Ball Vice Chairman

Mr. Christopher Daniel Hayes (Chris), Benefactors Committee Chair

Mrs. David Kay Seaver (Michelle), Benefactors Committee Vice Chair

Ms. Courtney Celeste Atkinson (Courtney), Beneficiaries Committee Chair

Mrs. Bartley William Sides (Katy), Beneficiaries Committee Vice Chair

Mr. Brian Alan Rogers (Brian), Past President

Mr. David Lee Beard (David), Ex-Officio Member

Mrs. Rodney Leon Grandy III (Linda), Ex-Officio Member

Lifetime Honorary Members

Mr. Gordon Lee Cory (Lee)

Mrs. Erving Arthur Dreskin (Jeanet)

Ms. Joyce Batchelor Parks (Joyce)

Members at Large


Mrs. Gerald Lee Barber (Tammy)

Mr. Leroy Wilson Brasington III (Wil)

Mr. Christopher Lynn Fincher (Chris)

Mrs. John Thomas Latham (Gina)

Mr. Erik Bryan Whaley (Erik)

Board Members from Rose Ball Committee

Mrs. Hector McLean (Kristen), Past Rose Ball Chairman

Mrs. Bryan David Feldman (Rebecca), Arrangements

Mrs. Jeffery Craig Tice (Lisa), Decorations

Mrs. David Alan Wilson (Wendy), Decorations

Ms. Amy Eckberg Malcomb, Historian

Mrs. James Berry Crain (Leigh), Invitation

Mrs. William Vann Kastler, Jr. (Lesa), Invitation List

Mrs. Charles Andrew Mowlajko (Julia), Program

Ms. Hollis Valaer McKissick (Holly), Publicity

Mrs. Hunter Keehln Murphy (Erin), Seating & Reservations


Other Members of the Rose Ball Committee


Mrs. Matthew Eugene Newton (Lauren)

Mrs. Caroline Wrigley Schroder (Caroline)

Mrs. Thomas Denison Croft, Jr. (Caroline)

Mrs. Jason Todd Jarvis (Teel)

Mrs. Andrew Reed Mitchell (Tiffany)

Mrs. William Lewis Glenn (Kerry)

Mrs. Stephen Clay Daniel (Mallory)

Mrs. Thomas Michael Destafano (Randi)

Mrs. Michael David Zurenko (Nikki)

Mrs. Michael Peter Kourlas (Amie)

Mrs. William Stephens Jones, Jr. (Molly)

Mrs. Gregory William Stoffelen (Catherine)

Mrs. Joshua Paul Sims (Cara)

Mrs. Daniel Robert Green (Angela)

Mrs. Edward Perry Heidtman IV (Leigh)

Mrs. Erik Bryan Whaley (Ann)

Mrs. Hamilton Earle Russell III (Allison)

Ms. Elizabeth Hope Philpot (Liz)

Mrs. William Richard Johnston (Taylor)

Ms. Leigh Ann Miller (Leigh Ann)

Mrs. Paul Evans Proffitt III (Mell)

Mrs. Alexander Rollinson Stalvey (Lee) 


The Rose Ball welcomes volunteers. If you are interested in volunteering your time and energy for this event, please contact Lee Stalvey, Rose Ball Volunteer Coordinator, lstalvey@gmail.com.